Tags

,

I REMEMBER SETTLING FOR DUDES THAT MADE MY HEART SICK TIME AND TIME AGAIN BECAUSE I THOUGHT TIME WAS RUNNING OUT! I THOUGHT THAT I HAD TO BE GRATEFUL TO WHOM EVER ACCEPTED ME AND PUT UP WITH THINGS THAT WOULD CAUSE ME TO BECOME depressed. I DIDNT. GOD SAYS DON’T BE UNEQUALLY YOKED BUT HE DOES ALLOW US TO CHOSE, SO I HAD TO BELIEVE THAT CHOSING NOT TO BE WITH SOME DUDE THAT DISMISSED ME EMOTIONALLY DID NOT MEAN I WOULD BE ALONE.

IT IS TRUE HOWEVER THAT EVEN WHEN CHOOSING THE ONE THAT YOUR HEARTS PUMPS FOR YOU’LL STILL GET A SINNER, BUT YOU CAN DECIDE WHAT YOU WILL AND WILL NOT TOLERATE BEFORE HAND. SO DON’T EVER SETTLE, GOD GIVES YOU GOOD GIFTS, BELIEVE YOU ME!

{HERE IS A POEM I WROTE BACK IN 2000}

You Never Promised Me Anything

By Lisa Poindexter

You have never told me you loved me or that you would always be there.

You have never promised me anything or even made your feelings clear.

You have never told me I was pretty, yet I believed you could see.

But even in that, there was nothing guaranteed.

Fear of rejection helped me to not approach you.

I was never to speak first, I forced myself not to.

Agony and temptation, I was denying what was true.

I’d fallen for a guy that I never even knew.

You are only a human, yet I don’t view you this way.

I think you are a blessing as I kneel down to pray.

My heart sits in wait for you to give it your attention.

I’ve held my composure so long that I’ve lost all resistance.

My heart ached to know you, so it said to my mind;

“I’m the one enduring distress and you

just get to think all the time!”

So, mind and heart came together and

when my thoughts felt the pain,

she realized she had to think of something,

 it was too much of a strain.

I don’t know why I believed there was any room for me.

If you are alone it’s more than likely

because you choose to be.

Common sense became my friend

and she tried to convince me.

Yet I went on like a blind bat, and I refused to see.

I ushered in my own disappointment

as I pushed aside my fears.

Life is full of misfortune; I should expect to shed tears.

I expect to be hurt; I expect to suffer pain,

I expect to surrender my all with nothing to gain.

I won’t cry too long because God is still good.

So I’ll suffer my injury for some time,

but then I’ll rise as I should.

Band-Aid on my wounds, ready for more.

Will I take another chance for my heart to be sore?

Oh course I will, see I’m prepared for war!

I don’t expect that you will keep every word that you say,

I don’t expect you to love me and never walk away,

I don’t expect you to hold me, tomorrow nor today.

You have never promised me anything,

so I don’t expect you to stay.

