Lisa Gore (17)

After studying this scripture, praying, seeking some answers from God, and getting some teachings from my husband, I have come up with what I believe this scripture is saying and what God is trying to teach us. In the Amplified version it’s very clear;

Proverbs 18:24

Amplified Bible (AMP)

The man of many friends [a friend of all the world] will prove himself a bad friend, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

In all honesty, I’ve had to sit back and take this scripture in first as a lesson for myself. In an attempt to feel approved, accepted, and worth living, I have sought to be friends with the world and have tried to have many friends in the world. Friends meant I was lovable and many friends meant I was real loveable. In reference to “where it got me”, the Bible tells it best.

James 4:4

Amplified Bible (AMP)

You [are like] unfaithful wives [having illicit love affairs with the world and breaking your marriage vow to God]! Do you not know that being the world’s friend is being God’s enemy? So whoever chooses to be a friend of the world takes his stand as an enemy of God.

lisa a gore (1)Later in life I started to understand that friends come and go, some true and some not. I also began to realize that someones interpretation of me was just that and not the definition oh my existence. The more I became a friend to myself and developed my friendship with the “friend that sticks closer than a brother” I became content with seasons of many friends and few friends.

There are times when I need to be alone, and when I say alone, I mean real alone. Because I’m a writer, because God want’s to have Daddy daughter time, because I need to be led by Him, because He needs to instruct me on my new visions. I need to be able to practice my raps and poetry, I need to be able to read the word and be built back up, filled up and ready for the next season of pouring out myself, my gifts and my stuff that only I have to give to the world. Alone isn’t just important, it is necessary for the calling on my life.

lisa gore ministry (35)

But what did alone mean to me? Being alone often triggered emotions of being rejected and abandoned. Not being invited and not having responses to my invitations was another trigger. But what I’ve come to realize is that

 

1) I am not alone

2) I never was alone

3) I have everything in me to deal with the pains of my past

4) because I was left alone by my parents and I’m still alive today I can survive

5) God allowed everything to happen the way that it did so that when I’m alone now (because I have to be) I can handle it.

So, the urge to be surrounded by many many friends always seems to come back, as well as the desire to feel their love, support, and acceptance. But the difference now is that I know that I don’t need anything that God isn’t giving me in the moment. How do I know? Well because when He said in His word that He would supply all of my needs I believe Him. I also realize that the need for many friends came from an unhealthy desire and low to no-self esteem. Something that I hate to still struggle with but at times it pops up. The difference now is that I recognize it and I can smash it quickly with TRUE new facts! Here are the 5 new facts and I will close.

1) God knows who, what, and when I need something or someone.

2) People can not give me worth, that always comes from my Father.

3) My life’s calling does not include a large group of friends.

4) Good and close friends by most people are only countable on one hand.

5) Each person that comes into my life has a reason and a season.

John 15: 12-16

“This is My commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends. You are My friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you slaves, for the slave does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I have heard from My Father I have made known to you. You did not choose Me but I chose you, and appointed you that you would go and bear fruit, and that your fruit would remain, so that whatever you ask of the Father in My name He may give to you…”

