Tags

, , , , , , ,

Depending on who you are and how you were raised, you will either love yourself or not. There are some that fall in the weird middle. When God created us, He created us with a healthy self-love not to be confused with selfishness. Here take a look at this scripture.

Jesus answered: Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, and mind. This is the first and most important commandment. The second most important commandment is like this one. And it is, “Love others as much as you love yourself.” Matthew 22:37-39

 

So as you can see, loving yourself is supposed to be a given. I often talk about self-love because it really has everything to do with your relationship with God. Just listen, what if you blessed your mate with a child and they didn’t love the child? What if they said horrible things to and about that child? Would you not become so angry at them? Well, I encourage you to not do that very thing with God’s child, yourself. He created you and loves you so, you should as well.

When I was a child I was told that I was evil. This led me to believe I was different from others (nice people) and I had to work to obtain love. Evil people didn’t deserve love. Yet, the truth about little Lisa Poindexter was I was hurting. I hate that my son stole a car, but if I was not careful in how I handled the situation, instead of him feeling as though I hated the act, he could have felt as though I hated him.

Maybe you have a legitimate reason for not loving a certain aspect of yourself, that’s not the same thing
as hating who you are as a person. It is possible to love yourself without
being in love with your flaws. I accept myself regardless like I do others and believe
in the possibilities of growth. So, if you’re struggling to love yourself,
change who you are so that you can. And
may I add not in a superficial way.
Also, never conform to what people say
you should be. Only God knows you better than you know yourself. This could be
why some struggle with self-love. If you’ve always loved purple dresses and how
they made you feel when you wore them, don’t stop wearing them because a few
people told you it wasn’t your color!                                                                               (PURPLE DRESS ↓)

Journal Entry: 03/01/10

My life won’t change unless I change it, my life won’t improve unless I improve it, and my walk with my Father God won’t deepen unless I walk deeper. I have to make the decision today that whether He chooses to give me my hearts desires or not, I will be joy-filled and grateful for my ever lasting life with Him. I have to make the decision today that although I don’t have what I want I will love Him and I will love myself! I will be content knowing that my Father loves me and knows what is best for my life and His plans. Period.

