Tags

, ,

 

I was thinking of posting a status the other day that said, “You shouldn’t post something that you can’t say to a person’s face.” But then I thought people would assume that I was writing that because I had a problem with someone, when I in fact do not. The only problem that I have is that my heart is saddened at the amount of people who hide passive aggressively behind their post. The indirect comments and lashing outs are their way of expressing themselves, yet, they refuse to bring their issue to the person they are venting about. Is this the case for everyone, no. But it happens a lot.

“You will keep your friends if you forgive them, but you will lose your friends if you keep talking about what they did wrong.” Proverbs 17:9

I believe that if someone has done or said something to offend you, then you should discuss it with that person. I have vented using my Facebook page a few times, yet you best believe I had talked to the person whose actions caused me to feel some type of way. Some people reached out to me because they assumed I was referring to them and I then explained that I wasn’t talking about them. These venting’s can cause harm to relationships because some people will just assume you are talking about them and withdraw from you without telling you why (I don’t think that is right either). Also, that type of behavior may cause people to put up a boundary because they may feel if you will do it to someone else close to you, they could be next.

“Making up with a friend you have offended is harder than breaking through a city wall.” Proverbs 18:19

Because good relationships are hard to come by, I suggest not destroying them by hiding behind your post, and lies. I say lies because I know some may even go as far as lying to a person that may confront them and ask are they referring to them. It’s silly and childish and simply not worth it. We all become angry and have things to say about it, and we all have the right to post whatever we want, and whenever we want, but the question is will it be beneficial? Will venting in your post cause your relationship(s) to become better or worse?

“Saying foolish things is like setting a trap to destroy yourself.” Proverbs 18:7

Even worse than this I have seen people post things about their spouse indirectly. This trash makes my heart sink! When you post to your 500 friends that you are struggling in your marriage (directly or indirectly) you are opening a door. A door that says “I’m not happy, you can come in”. The friends of the opposite sex willing to discuss your marital problems are in violation. Even if they claim that they care and just want to help! I tell you, if you are having problems in your marriage, this will surely not help matters at all! Especially if you and your spouse are not even connected to each other’s pages, (but that’s a whole nother topic)!

In closing, I just want to say that this is a very general topic and I’m not speaking to anyone in particular, yet if you feel conviction, than go with that! Once you type your post and send it out there for all to see, you take a huge risk of destroying a good relationship. Even if you later delete it, the damage may be already done. Think and even pray sometimes before you post something.

“There is more hope for a fool than for someone who speaks without thinking.” Proverbs 29:20

Your words may not mean much to you, but depending on how people look up to you, your words can be very powerful.

“Make your words good– you will be glad you did. Words can bring death or life! Talk too much, and you will eat everything you say.” Proverbs 18:20-21

 

Thank you for reading!

